Sunday, 7 February 2021

UPCOMING RELEASE: The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife by Maz Evans

 

Link to publisher

Published by: Hachette, 13th May 2021

👍👍👍👍

Feeling angry? Got BIG FEELINGS? Hardly surprising at the moment, is it? But with our little ones struggling just as much, finding book characters who not only reflect their feelings but who can help address them are invaluable.

Meet Scarlett Fife. Nine-year-old Scarlett feels that a lot of things in her life are unfair. But when her anger starts to make things explode, Scarlett begins to worry. Can she find a way to let her anger out with causing chaos...or even better, stay calm? 

This book is perfect for fans of Charlie Changes Into a Chicken. Not only is it funny, full of warmth and hugely relatable, it tackles the important and big emotion that affects us all - ANGER! Through humour and heart, Maz Evans explores how it is perfectly okay and completely normal to feel angry but it's how we manage it that matters...something that never comes easy!

Scarlett is a great character surrounded by other great characters. I love her real take on the things that annoy her-rightly so-and her strength of character. Maisie is a great best friend, Scarlett's aunties' are full of hilarious wisdom and William U and his simpering mother would make anyone want to explode. I also particularly love the sensitive portrayal of Scarlett's mum and the nod to the endless juggling of parenting life. 

The physical explosions are huge fun! There are definite echoes of Matilda with Scarlett's exploding power and Ms Pitt-Bull (another strong character) and yet the story feels fresh and contemporary. The only problem is, it's not being released until May. So get pre-ordering or explode with excitement...

A big thank you to Netgalley and Hachette for allowing me the chance to read and review. The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife is now available to pre-order. 

No comments:

Post a comment

Thanks so much for taking the time to read our blog and for sharing your thoughts. We hope you've enjoyed the reviews and will respond as soon as possible,
Many thanks,
LittleCornishWriter

UPCOMING RELEASE: The Very Silly Dinosaur, SillySaurus! by Hannah Barker and Johanna Zverzina

  Published by:  Cherish Editions (an imprint of Trigger Publishing) Published on: 27th May 2021 👍👍👍👍 Perfect for the younger end of the...